Paysage hiver Villars chalets Olivier Fatzer

Michel Dätwyler

Michel Daetwyler, a key player in tourist development for Villars tells us how the resort has evolved over the course of the last 30 years.
Biography

Biography

Born in Villars, Michel Daetwyler has been an important player in the tourist development of the resort of Villars through his various professional and political activities. A former ski champion along with his brother Jean-Daniel, Michel has been committed to the locality for more than 30 years and has played a part in the municipality for 16 years, five of them as a trustee for the commune. He is currently an honorary member of several committees and a consultant for various major projects for the resort.
Born in the commune of Ollon, Michel Daetwyler and his brother Jean-Daniel spent a large part of their childhood in the skiing area at an altitude of 1,800 m, where their parents ran the Restaurant du Col de Bretaye from 1949 to 1965. This extraordinary childhood certainly goes a long way towards explaining Michel and his brother’s connection with tourism and skiing. Every winter, they went down to the Villars school 600 metres below on skis. As a boy, Michel became familiar with the first ski lift in the skiing area, with the chairlift at Chaux-Ronde, which was one of the first in Switzerland, along with an installation in Davos. Inaugurated on 13 December 1936, on the plot of the current slalom stadium, the cable system with copper belt meant the skier had to hold a closed loop in their hand. The success generated by this chairlift saw the start of the development of the ski area. A year later, the “funi-luge” or chairlift was built at Grand-Chamossaire, and this enabled 120-130 persons an hour to be carried up to Grand-Chamossaire at 2,000 m. Other ski lifts were constructed and Villars became one of the main ski resorts in the country.

In 1965, Michel’s parents left the restaurant and bought a small shop in the centre of Villars, running the restaurant at the ice-skating rink at the same time. During this period, the Villars ice hockey team were the Swiss champions thanks in part to the village having the first artificial covered skating rink in Switzerland, which provided the ideal training conditions for this talented team. As a matter of fact, a generous sponsor, Mrs Potin owned a hockey team in Paris which included the best Canadian players in Europe. She loved Villars and stayed there regularly. In 1960, Mrs Potin offered to build an artificial ice rink at the resort and created Villars Hockey Club. In 1962, she also financed the covering for the rink (umbrella system), which made the Villars rink the first artificial covered one in Switzerland. Villars Hockey Club quickly went up to the national league and they were the Swiss champions in the 1962/63, 1963/64 seasons, and runners-up in 1964/65.
Michel studied hotel management, which he did while skiing competitively with his brother Jean-Daniel. They were both members of the national ski team and took part in World Cup competitions over a period of more than 10 years. Jean-Daniel competed in the Olympic Games in Grenoble in 1968, where he was awarded the bronze medal for downhill along with Jean-Claude Killy. The passion for racing has also continued into following generations. Jean-Daniel’s daughter Céline was twice junior World Cup champion for downhill too in 1991 and 1992. By the way, these achievements explain the presence of the Olympic rings at the entrance to the family sports shop. In spring 1973, Michel finished competing and followed the training course required to take up management of the Swiss Ski School in Villars in December. His position as head of the Ski School also enabled him to bring together the boards of the ski lift and cable car company Télébretaye and the Villars tourist office. He later become president of various corporations, including the ski school at Villars, the ski club, the tourist office and tourist tax body.
For many years, Michel remained very active in the teaching of skiing, and quickly incorporated the steering and technical committee of the IASS (Swiss Ski School Association, which later became Swiss SnowSports). During his years as president of Villars Ski Club, he devoted himself to improving the cooperation between ski schools and ski clubs, the latter focusing mainly on competitive sport. This certainly explains the “strength” and current high level of the Villars Ski Club, as well as its good synergy with the Swiss Ski School.


While he was head of the Swiss Ski School, he created the ski school’s daycare centre and founded the association that maintains the cross-country skiing trails. Conscious of the upswing in this sport, Michel raised funds from private sources and various bodies, purchased a snow groomer, found a driver, and held discussions with all the landowners to enable the creation of slopes dedicated to this sport during the winter season.
When new ski lift or cable car installations were constructed, Michel took part in meetings with farmers to persuade them to have the pylons put up on their land.
In 1973-1975, while Michel was head of the ski school and a member of the tourist office board, an important property developer launched the project to create a “super Villars”. The main aim during this period was the construction of super-resorts at a high altitude, such as Thyon 2000 or Super-Nendaz. The project consisted of creating accommodation for 1,500-2,000 people in the Charmet area (the current area of Villars Golf Club at an altitude of 1,500 metres). Agricultural land was assigned as building zones, and construction approvals were issued.
However, no water source could be found in the surrounding areas and the project was abandoned. By contrast, Villars Golf Club (previously situated in the resort) later had to be moved higher up and this location was retained in part. As a matter of fact, the modification of this zone’s allocation some years earlier to enable the execution of the development project made it easier to convince the utilities and nature protection bodies to convert the building zone into the golfing area. The course was therefore constructed in 1973, first with 3 holes, then 6, then 9. The 9 additional holes were created in 2000.
Michel was also one of those responsible for merging the three cable cars during this period (the Roc d’Orsay cable car, Télébretaye and the Barboleuse-Les Chaux cable car). A member of the board of directors of Télébretaye, he then became its president. Each body had its own ticketing system at the time, and it was necessary to create the first unique ski package for use throughout the ski area. The cable car companies remained independent up to their merger in 1989, and this was made possible by the common determination of the 3 executive boards to consolidate and stabilise their finances to develop the ski area. The Bex-Villars-Bretaye railway company did not integrate with the new body, but remained its main partner. This merger and the creation of “Télé-Villars-Gryon SA” allowed a major reinvigoration of the resort’s winter services.

Michel became an executive of the commune of Ollon in 1990 and presided over it (as trustee) from 2002 to 2006.
Since he retired from political life in 2007, Michel has dedicated himself fully to the family sports shop with his brother Jean-Daniel and their families. The shop is currently run by the family’s next generation.
 

Our region on social networks

Paysage hiver Villars chalets Olivier Fatzer

Michel Dätwyler

Michel Dätwyler, acteur essentiel dans le développement touristique de Villars raconte l’évolution de la station au cours des 30 dernières années
Biographie

Biographie

Natif de Villars, Michel Daetwyler a été un acteur important du développement touristique de la station de Villars au travers de ses différentes activités professionnelles et politiques. Ancien champion de ski avec son frère Jean-Daniel, Michel s’est investi dans la Commune pendant plus de 30 ans et a fait partie de la Municipalité pendant 16 ans, dont 5 en tant que Syndic de la Commune. Il est actuellement membre d’honneur dans plusieurs comités et consultant pour divers grands projets pour la station.
Nés dans la Commune d’Ollon, Michel Daetwyler et son frère Jean-Daniel passent une grande partie de leur enfance à 1800m. d’altitude sur le domaine skiable, où leurs parents exploitent le Restaurant du Col de Bretaye de 1949 à 1965. Cette enfance extraordinaire explique certainement en grande partie l’attachement de Michel et de son frère pour le tourisme et pour le ski, puisque chaque hiver, ils se rendent à ski jusqu’à l’école de Villars 600 mètres plus bas. Pendant son enfance, Michel connaît les premières remontées mécaniques du domaine skiable, dont le monte-pente de Chaux-Ronde, qui fut avec une installation à Davos, une des premières de Suisse. Inauguré le 13 décembre 1936, sur le tracé du stade de slalom actuel, le système à câble avec ceinture en cuir obligeait le skieur à tenir une boucle fermée dans sa main. Le succès suscité par ce monte-pente a lancé le développement du domaine skiable. Une année plus tard, le funi-luge du Grand-Chamossaire fut construit, qui permettait d’amener 120-130 personnes à l’heure en-haut du Grand-Chamossaire à 2000m. D’autres remontées mécaniques sont construites et Villars devient l’une des principales stations de ski du pays.

En 1965, les parents de Michel quittent le restaurant et achètent un petit magasin au centre de Villars et exploitent en même temps le restaurant de la patinoire. A cette époque, l’équipe de hockey sur glace de Villars est Championne suisse, grâce entre autres à la présence dans le village de la première patinoire artificielle couverte de Suisse, qui offre à cette équipe talentueuse des conditions d’entraînement idéales. En effet, une généreuse mécène, Mme Potin, propriétaire d’une équipe de hockey à Paris comptant les meilleurs joueurs canadiens d’Europe, aime beaucoup Villars et y séjourne régulièrement. En 1960, Mme Potin offre à la station la construction d’une patinoire artificielle et crée le Villars Hockey Club. En 1962, elle finance également la couverture de la patinoire (système parapluie), ce qui fait de la patinoire de Villars la première patinoire artificielle couverte de Suisse. Le Villars Hockey Club monte rapidement en ligue Nationale et devient Champion suisse pendant les saisons 1962/63, 1963/64 et vice-Champion suisse en 1964/65.
Michel effectue ses études dans l’hôtellerie et fait en parallèle du ski de compétition avec son frère Jean-Daniel. Ils font tous les deux partie de l’Equipe Nationale de ski et participent pendant plus de 10 ans aux compétitions de coupe du Monde. Jean-Daniel participe aux JO de Grenoble en 1968, y obtient la médaille de bronze de descente aux côtés de Jean-Claude Killy. La passion des courses a d’ailleurs suivi les générations suivantes, la fille de Jean-Daniel,
Céline, a été également double championne du Monde Junior de descente en 1991 et 1992. Ces exploits expliquent d’ailleurs la présence d’anneaux olympiques à l’entrée du magasin de sport familial. Au printemps 1973, Michel quitte la compétition et suit les formations nécessaires pour reprendre la direction de l’Ecole Suisse de Ski de Villars en décembre. Sa position de Directeur de l’Ecole de Ski lui permet également d’intégrer les comités de la société de remontées mécaniques Télébretaye et de l’Office du Tourisme de Villars. Il deviendra plus tard Président de diverses corporations, dont l’Ecole Suisse de ski de Villars, le Ski-club, l’Office du Tourisme et la Taxe de séjour.
Pendant de nombreuses années, Michel reste très actif dans l’enseignement du ski et intègre rapidement le comité directeur et technique de l’IASS (Interassociation Suisse de Ski, qui deviendra plus tard Swiss SnowSports). Pendant ses années en tant que Président du Ski-Club Villars, il s’investit fortement pour améliorer la collaboration entre les écoles de ski et les ski-clubs, ces derniers étant axés principalement sur la compétition. Ceci explique certainement la « force » et le niveau actuel élevé du Ski-Club Villars, tout comme sa bonne synergie avec l’Ecole Suisse de Ski.


Pendant qu’il est Directeur de l’Ecole Suisse de Ski, il crée la garderie de l’école de ski et fonde l’association pour l’entretien des pistes de fond. Conscient de l’essor que prend ce sport, Michel réunit les fonds auprès de privés et de diverses instances, achète une dameuse, trouve un chauffeur et discute avec tous les propriétaires de terrains pour permettre la création de pistes dédiées à ce sport pendant les saisons hivernales.
Lors de la construction de nouvelles installations de remontées mécaniques, Michel participe aux discussions avec les agriculteurs, pour les convaincre de laisser poser les pylônes sur leurs terrains.

En 1973-1975, alors que Michel est directeur de l’Ecole de Ski et membre du Comité de l’Office du Tourisme, un important promoteur immobilier émet le projet de construire un « super-Villars ». La construction de super-stations en altitude, telles que Thyon 2000 ou Super-Nendaz est courante à cette époque. Le projet consiste à construire 1500-2000 lits dans la zone de Charmet (région du Golf-Club de Villars actuel à 1500 mètres d’altitude). Les zones agricoles sont affectées en zones à bâtir et les autorisations pour la construction pourraient être délivrées.
Cependant aucune source d’eau n’est trouvée dans les alentours, le projet est abandonné. Par contre, plus tard, lorsque le Golf de Villars (jusqu’alors situé en station) doit être déplacé en altitude, ce sera en partie cet emplacement qui sera retenu. En effet, l’affectation de cette zone ayant été modifiée pour permettre la réalisation du projet immobilier quelques années plus tôt, il est plus facile de convaincre les services et la protection de la nature de transformer une zone constructible en zone affectée pour le golf. Le parcours est donc construit en 1973, d’abord avec 3 trous, puis 6, puis 9. Les 9 trous supplémentaires seront construits en 2000.
Michel a aussi été l’un des artisans de la fusion des 3 remontées mécaniques de l’époque (Télécabine du Roc d’Orsay, Télébretaye, Télécabine Barboleuse-Les Chaux). Membre du Conseil d’administration de Télébretaye, il en devient président. Chaque entité disposant à cette époque de son propre système de billetterie, il a fallu dans un premier temps créer un forfait de ski unique, pour l’utilisation de l’ensemble du domaine skiable. Les sociétés de remontées mécaniques restent des sociétés indépendantes jusqu’à leur fusion en 1989, rendue possible grâce à une volonté commune des 3 conseils d’administration de se regrouper pour assainir leurs finances et développer le domaine skiable. La société du chemin de fer Bex-Villars-Bretaye ne fusionne pas dans la nouvelle entité, mais en reste le principal partenaire. Cette fusion, par la création de « Télé-Villars-Gryon SA » a permis de redynamiser fortement l’offre hivernale de la station.
Michel accède à l’exécutif de la Commune d’Ollon en 1990 et le présidera (Syndic) de 2002 à 2006.
Depuis son retrait de la vie politique en 2007, Michel s’investit pleinement dans le magasin de sport familial avec son frère Jean-Daniel et leurs familles. Le magasin est actuellement dans les mains de la jeune génération.
 

Notre région sur les réseaux sociaux